1720: John Stearns establishes a mill near Newton Square, just off Pleasant Street.
1850-1888: For several years, a major portion of the land belongs to Colonel John Wetherell and his wife Hester, whose father is Rejoice Newton, for whom the hill was named.
1888: Newton Hill is purchased by the City of Worcester and becomes part of Elm Park. This 61-acre purchase combines with the original 27 acres, bringing the total to 88 acres. The City plans to build a reservoir at the summit for fire protection, but eventually decides the idea is impractical.
1890: A tree and shrub nursery is established at the present location of the Doherty High School athletic fields.
1891: Benches are placed along the summit trail so visitors can have a place to rest and “enjoy the view.”
1892: Walls are constructed along Pleasant Street.
1895: A road is built along the Highland Street entrance.
1909: A greenhouse is constructed in the Southeast corner of Newton Hill; the first two tennis courts are built; a wooden flagpole and shelter are erected at the summit. The original flagpole is later replaced by a steel pole, which still stands at the summit.
1920: Work begins on construction of an amphitheatre in the Northeast corner for a pageant to commemorate the 300th anniversary of the landing of the Pilgrims and the City of Worcester’s 200th anniversary. More than 40,000 people attend the festivities.
1929: The Founders Monument (Rogers-Kennedy Memorial) is dedicated December 6, 1929. The monument is sculpted by Maurice Stearne of New York as a tribute to the early settlers of the Commonwealth.
1940: The area around the Founders Monument is graded and planted.
1949: A basketball court is added to Newton Square, prompting a series of protests concerning the inclusion of recreational facilities. A request to build a ski tow is turned down.
2001: Friends of Newton Hill is established by area residents.